No announcement yet.

Calder finalists

  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Calder finalists

    Defenseman Aaron Ekblad of the Florida Panthers and forwards Johnny Gaudreau of the Calgary Flames and Mark Stone of the Ottawa Senators are the three finalists for the 2014-15 Calder Memorial Trophy, awarded "to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition," the National Hockey League announced today.

  • #2
    I'd love to see this go to Stone, but I think it will be Ekblad who wins.


    • #3
      This is the strongest rookie class in a very long time. Every one of these players would probably take the Calder in a different season. Here's some stats about Stone:

      - He led the rookies in points (same points as JG, more goals). He also led them in +/- and takeaways (in which he also led the entire league in).

      - Stone had 47 points after January 1st, which placed him 4th in league scoring from that point onwards. Benn, Tavares and Ovechkin had more points than him. Crosby had one less.

      - Stone would become the second player in Senators history to win the Calder; the first was Alfredsson.