No announcement yet.

2016 NHL Awards

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 2016 NHL Awards

    Calder Trophy (Best Rookie)
    Artemi Panarin, Chicago Blackhawks
    Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers
    Shayne Gostisbehere, Philadelphia Flyers
    Winner: Artemi Panarin

    Ted Lindsay Award (Most Outstanding Player as voted by players)
    Winner: Patrick Kane, Blackhawks

    General Manager of the Year Award
    Jim Nill, Dallas Stars
    Jim Rutherford, Pittsburgh Penguins
    Brian MacLellan, Washington Capitals
    Winner: Rutherford, Penguins

    Masterton Trophy (for perseverance and dedication to hockey)
    Jaromir Jagr, Florida Panthers
    Mats Zuccarello, New York Rangers
    Pascal Dupuis, Pittsburgh Penguins
    Winner: Jaromir Jagr, Panthers

    Mark Messier Leadership Award
    John Tavares, New York Islanders
    Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
    Shea Weber, Nashville Predators
    Winner: Shea Weber, Nashville Predators

    King Clancy Memorial Trophy (off-ice leadership)
    Winner: Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks

    NHL Foundation Award (community service)
    P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens
    Matt Martin, New York Islanders
    Mark Giordano, Calgary Flames
    Winner: Mark Giordano, Calgary Flames

    Norris Trophy (best defenseman)
    Brent Burns, San Jose Sharks
    Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings
    Erik Karlsson, Ottawa Senators
    Winner: Drew Doughty, Kings

    Selke Trophy (best defensive forward)
    Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
    Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings
    Ryan Kesler, Anaheim Ducks
    Winner: Anze Kopitar, Kings

    Jack Adams Award (best coach)
    Lindy Ruff, Dallas Stars
    Gerard Gallant, Florida Panthers
    Barry Trotz, Washington Capitals
    Winner: Barry Trotz, Capitals

    Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship)
    Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers
    Loui Eriksson, Boston Bruins
    Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings
    Winner: Anze Kopitar, Kings

    Vezina Trophy (best goaltender)
    Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals
    Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay Lightning
    Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings
    Winner: Braden Holtby, Capitals

    Hart Memorial Trophy (most valuable player)
    Jamie Benn, Dallas Stars
    Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
    Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
    Winner: Patrick Kane, Blackhawks

  • #2
    Karlsson loses out to his third Norris Trophy to Drew Doughty.

    It's pretty ridiculous that the writers just overlooked a historic year because they felt a guy was due.


    • #3
      Just a terrible decision.. A few terrible decisions in my opinion. Jagr over Dupuis? Giordano over Subban?

      And I'm usually a fan of Will Arnett's acting, but he was a horrible host. It looked like he was completely unprepared and winging it all, and the players looked uncomfortable and unimpressed.


      • #4
        All things considered, it would be odd to say Doughty has been in the league for eight years now with no Norris Trophy. He's always been a top defenseman, he's lead his team to two Cups. He's won two Gold medals with Canada. He's one of the more reliable players on the ice most times, and puts up good offensive numbers.

        However, this trophy is a one-year thing. Karlsson wasn't just better than Doughty this year, he was much better. The stats back it up. The advanced stats back it up. The eye test back it up. It's crazy to me that 19 voters thought Karlsson was not a top three defenseman this year. Yes .. the same defenseman who put up 82 points for the first time in 25 years. The same defenseman who led his team in points ... by 21. Is there any way he's not a top three defenseman this year? No. It was the media voting to make sure Doughty got his lifetime achievement award.